The home of Bridge in Devon
EBU logo

AGM 2017

11 a.m. on Sunday 18 June 2017 at the Isca Centre,

Draft minutes awaiting approval at the next AGM.

M.Hamon (Chairman), T.Treeby (Hon. Secretary), R Edmondson (Hon. Treasurer) and about 38 members.

B. Golding, J. Harrison, J. Jenkins

2. Minutes
of 2016 AGM were approved and signed.

3. Matters arising
Appropriate action on any matters has been taken by the committee and reported in minutes.

4. Chairman’s Report
"Today brings an end to 3 years of my chairmanship. I am pleased this year a wide range of County competitions took place. This has relied on many willing members across the county to which I am very grateful. I particularly want to acknowledge the support and help I have had over the last 3 years from DBA Committee Officers, Ruth Edmondson (current Treasurer), Viv Peters (previous Treasurer) and Terence Treeby (Secretary). The game is thriving in Devon, our finances are secure largely due to their industry. If this is to continue more volunteers will be needed.
It is a pleasure to note Theo Anoyrkatis’ selection to represent England at the U16 level – we wish him well in Slovakia next month."

5. Presentation of prizes
Western Morning News for Devon Teams : S Lindfors, J Grant, W Hamilton, P Wood
The Devon Teams Plate : Nigel and Kathy Richardson, Malcolm and Catherine Boyack
Devon Pairs (Julia Chadwick) ; J Grant, S Lindfors
Devon Winter Pairs ladder winners : I Walsh, S Lindfors
The Kevin and Ann Slee Trophy (Victor Ludorum) : R Lingham
Swiss Teams trophy was presented at the end of the event to T Treeby, G Clements, D Strawbridge and M Walsh.

6.Treasurer’s Report
The current account snapshot balance of £22,105 includes 2017 congress entries before expenses, so is effectively £11000. In addition the deposit account has a balance of £14,101 and the sections hold reserves of £14267. The accounts were accepted (proposed Ivor Moore, seconded Ann Slee).

7. Election of Chairman, vice-Chairman, Hon. Treasurer and Hon. Secretary
Geoff Clements was the only nominee as Chairman (proposed by Pam Ward, seconded by Diane Oliver) and took the chair; there was no nomination for vice-Chairman; there was no nomination for Hon. Secretary; Ruth Edmondson was the only nominee as Hon. Treasurer (proposed by Terence Treeby, seconded by Andrew Leslie). Anyone wishing to volunteer for the vacant posts can be co-opted at the next committee meeting.

8. DBA P2P Component
The committee agreed to propose to the AGM that P2P from April 2018 will remain unchanged at 4p; the club subscription will remain at zero and the Devon part of direct membership remains at £3. The motion was passed with one vote against.

9. Accounting Year
The current accounting year runs to 31 March 2017 in advance of the AGM in June 2017. The committee proposed that the subsequent accounting years will run to 30 April with the AGM in July (i.e. starting in 2018). In order to achieve this, the committee proposed the following necessary changes to the Constitution, which were approved.

4.5 The Membership Year for 2017-18 shall run from 1st April 2017 to 30th April 2018, and subsequent years for the twelve month period from 1st May to 30th April.

4.7 If any Association member has not paid their annual subscription by 30th June then that Association member will not be able to vote at the following AGM as a paid up Association member.

4.8 An Association member ceases to be a paid up Association member on 30th June if at that date the Association member has not paid any outstanding annual subscription. That member can subsequently become a paid up Association member on payment of the current Membership Year’s subscription, but this late payment shall not override clause 4.7 above.

4.10 The Association Pay to Play county component and each of the Association member category’s annual subscription, for the Membership Year starting in the following 1 May, shall be determined by a simple majority of the paid up members at the preceding Annual General Meeting.

4.11 The Association membership categories shall be as follows:

4.11.2 Dual Member-a Player Member of the EBU who does not have their primary allegiance recorded with the Association by 1st May of the Membership Year.

4.13: Any duplicate bridge club may affiliate to the Association and all such clubs shall be affiliated to the EBU. The Association has the right to determine at an Annual General Meeting through a simple majority of its paid up members the annual club affiliation fee to be charged for the twelve month period from the following 1 May.

a) The members of each Section shall at their AGM, which must be held between 1st of May and 30th June each year, elect a Committee to assist in the management of bridge in their area. Each Committee shall comprise a Chairman, and Treasurer plus such additional members as the Officers see fit.

b) General
A copy of the Minutes of all Section Committee meetings must be sent to the Association's Secretary. The certified annual accounts of the Sections shall be passed to the Association's Treasurer by 31 May. Each Section Treasurer or another representative is required to attend the Annual General Meeting of the Association.

b) Annual General Meeting
The Annual General Meeting shall be held by the 31st of July each year at a venue to be decided by the Central Committee.

The consolidated Section and County Accounts and Balance Sheet shall be made up each year to the 30th of April and shall be submitted to the Annual General Meeting for ratification.

10. Any other business
The committee was asked to consider streamlining the organisation of sections.
Tom Biss proposed a vote of thanks to the continuing committee.

The meeting closed at 11.30 a.m.